Make it up as I go….

Being a novice photographer, I am still kind of surprised when I get exactly the shot I intend. Don’t think I am tooting my own horn- there are plenty of ‘happy accidents’ where I am shooting into a dark warehouse and capture a great milisecond of a show. There are even more shots I disposed of upon first review because I didn’t set my camera right, or bumped the dial on the back while clapping. I know I still have a long way to go. Still I can’t help but get excited when I feel like I got some good shots and it wasn’t coincidence and it wasn’t the camera doing the thinking. And I am very glad at least a few people have noticed.

I strut like a peacock when I say that I am a ‘contributing blogger’, if that’s the right term, for the Little Village Magazine online….the go-to, free publication for Iowa City entertainment talk. I’ve read it for years. I even have a pile of old ones sitting under a chair somewhere. So needles to say, I am geeking out a little bit. It happens anytime I get to play with my camera, only now I get to show my photos to a bunch of strangers instead of forcing all my friends to look at them.  Check  out the Little Village,  if you’re not already a faithful reader.

http://littlevillagemag.com/content/

The August issue is all over Iowa City right now. Pick them up in the doorway of your favorite downtown business or the rack of free publications at Hy-Vee.

Now that I’ve bragged, back to the photos. On 7/29, I saw Cheyenne Marie Mize at the Mill. and was happy I didn’t stay home on a Monday night. She played a long set, switched up instruments a bunch of times and ended strong with some pretty powerful folk-queen vocals and guitar playing. It was a true shame that there was hardly anyone back there listening. Shame on all of you responsible folks that have jobs to wake up early for….this was a good show. Cheyenne was joined onstage by Joan Shelley, making up two-thirds of their other musical endeavor, the Louisville trio, Maiden Radio.  Cheyenne was followed by Portland band, Archeology. They were energetic, melodic and gave us a good set. I think a band does well to start a set with an a cappella song — it grabs the audience and soothes them into submission. My only complaint is that the high-energy of Archeology makes them harder to photograph in the red lights of the Mill stage. haha. You decide how I did.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/barefootadrianne/sets/72157624625387838/show/

p.s. I LOVE getting comments and feedback on my photos. head over to flickr and blabber to me.

http://www.flickr.com/barefootadrianne/sets

I should go to bed soon instead of sitting in front of the computer wondering if I am going to wake up with the Iowa River flooding in my front door.  Anybody got a boat to lend me?

*adrianne*

Leave a Reply

